April 29, 2008

Students and Faculty Honored for Promoting Diversity

Award ceremony celebrates individuals who are making a difference on campus and in the community

Lafayette students, faculty, and organizations were honored for their dedication to academics and furthering diversity on campus and in the surrounding community at the annual Diversity Awards held April 23, in the Wilson Room, Pfenning Alumni Center.

Sponsored by the Office of Intercultural Development and the Office of the Dean of Studies, the ceremony celebrates those who have committed themselves to making a difference in the Lafayette community.

The list of award recipients follows:

Association of Black Collegians (ABC) Recognition Award- Presented to a member of the Lafayette community who has throughout the year provided guidance to, and supported ABC.
Kimberly Roberts, assistant director of Intercultural Development

David A. Portlock Award- A student who has worked diligently to promote cross-cultural relationships on campus or in the community.
Alberto Luna ’08 (English/psychology), Bronx, N.Y.

Excellence in Diversity Education Award- A faculty or administrator whose commitment and service to diversity on campus promotes awareness and a positive learning environment for all students.
George Torres, associate professor of music

Frances Ocansey- Ahene Award- A graduating senior whose activities and commitment to academic excellence and inclusive cultural education within the community transcends all barriers and exemplifies the ethos of multiculturalism.
Al-Amin Kheraj ’08 (international affairs), Easton, Pa.

Intercultural Networking Council Recognition Award (LINC) -Given to a campus organization which best exemplifies the mission and values of LINC
Brothers of Lafayette

ISA Recognition Award- Given to an ISA member who has throughout the year supported ISA.
Ioana Marin ’11 (neuroscience), Galati, Romania

Jeffrey D. Robinson `80 Leadership Award- An accomplished student who is also characterized by noteworthy leadership in college activities and student life.
Vanessa Araujo-Lopera ’08 (international economics and commerce/art), Woodhaven, N.Y.
Mevan Jayasinghe ’08 (B.S. biology/A.B. economics and business), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Leroy D. Nunery `77 Intellectual Citizenship Award- A student whose research on important social, political, or economic issues advances knowledge and involves the student in activities within a community
Daniela Ochoa Diaz ’08 (international affairs/French), Davie, Fla.

Paving the Path Award- A student (freshman or sophomore) who has demonstrated potential for greatness in the years to come.
Crystal Burey ’10 (art), Saint Albans, N.Y.
Kristen Tyler ’10, Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.

Riley Temple `71 Creative and Artistic Citizenship Award- A student whose creative scholarship in the visual and/or performance arts contributes to knowledge on societal issues of multi–cultural or inter-cultural concerns.
Felix Forster ’09 (B.S. mathematics/A.B. economics and business), Rostock, Germany

ALANA (African, Latino/a, Asian, and Native American) Academic Achievement

Darlyne Bailey`74 Excellence in the Humanities and Social Sciences Award- A student whose academic/artistic accomplishments reflect an outstanding level of scholarship and advances understanding on an important issue related to diversity.
Kavinda Udugama ’09 (B.S. electrical and computer engineering/A.B. mathematics), Kandy, Sri Lanka

Dr. Eugene Deloatch `59 Excellence in Science and Engineering Award- A Senior whose academic accomplishments have reflected and continue to reflect an outstanding level of scholarship.
Sandra Rodriguez ’08 (biochemistry), Mendham, N.J.
Chiquita Palha De Sousa ’08 (B.S. biology/A.B. art), Manning, Canada

Dr. Eugene Deloatch `59 First Year Academic Achievement Award- First year students in engineering and science with highest GPAs.
Jacqueline Kikuchi ’11, Canyon Country, Calif.
Andrew Lai ’11, Acton, Mass.
Michelle Mendoza ’11, Holliston, Mass.

Otis Ellis`89 Scholar Athlete Award- A successful varsity athlete who has achieved an outstanding level of scholarship.
Mark Price ’08 (mathematics and economics), Dublin, Ohio
Osasumwen Izevbigie ’09 (government and law/philosophy), Springdale, Md.

posted in News and Features

tagged with