May 6, 2011

Diversity Awards Celebrate Students and Faculty Who Are Making a Difference on Campus and in the Community

Lafayette students and faculty were honored for their dedication to academics and furthering diversity on campus and in the surrounding community at the annual Diversity Awards held April 30, in the Wilson Room of Pfenning Alumni Center.

Sponsored by the Office of Intercultural Development and the Office of Dean of the College, the ceremony celebrates those who have committed themselves to addressing issues of multiculturalism, diversity, and social justice throughout the year.

Award recipients were:

  • Association of Black Collegians (ABC) Recognition Award- Presented to a member of the Lafayette community who has throughout the year provided guidance to and supported ABC.
    Rodney Gould ’12 (Fort Washington, Md.), economics
  • Darlyne Bailey ’74 Excellence in the Humanities and Social Sciences Award – A student whose academic/artistic accomplishments reflect an outstanding level of scholarship and advances understanding on an important issue.
    Samantha Patterson ’11 (Jamaica, N.Y.), English
  • David A. Portlock Cross-Cultural Relationship Award – Students who have worked diligently to promote cross-cultural relationships on campus or in the community.
    Tom Benjamin ’12 (Norristown, Pa.), chemical engineering
  • Dr. Eugene Deloatch `59 Excellence in Science and Engineering Award- Seniors whose academic accomplishments have reflected and continue to reflect an outstanding level of scholarship.
    Ioana Marin ’11 (Galati, Romania), neuroscience
    Joaquin Indacochea Beltran ’11 (Arequipa, Peru), civil engineering
  • Dr. Eugene Deloatch `59 First-Year Academic Achievement Award- First year students in engineering and science with highest GPAs.
    Eduardo Rodriguez ’14 (Santa Tecla, El Salvador), civil engineering
    Xingjian Ma ’14 (Shenyang, China), electrical and computer engineering
  • Excellence in Diversity Education Award – A faculty or administrator whose commitment and service to diversity on campus promotes awareness and a positive learning environment for all students.
    Denise Galarza-Sepulveda, assistant professor of foreign languages and literatures
  • Frances Ocansey-Ahene Award – A graduating senior whose activities and commitment to academic excellence and inclusive cultural education within the community transcends all barriers and exemplifies the ethos of multiculturalism.
    Kyara Gray ’11 (Lincoln University, Pa.), economics
    Briana Strachan ’11 (Bowie, Md.), English
  • LINC Award for Student Organization of the Year – Given to a campus organization which best exemplifies the mission and values of the Lafayette Intercultural Networking Council.
    Lafayette Environmental Awareness and Protection (LEAP)
  • QuEST Award – A member in the Lafayette community who has supported Questioning Established Sexual Taboos throughout the year and advocated for campus-wide awareness of human sexuality.
    Christina Chen ’11 (Westfield, N.J.), biology
  • Hispanic Society of Lafayette (HSL) Award – An individual who has helped further our cultural mission and has served as an ambassador for HSL.
    Kristian Smith ’13 (Washington, D.C.), American studies
  • International Students Association Recognition Award- Given to an ISA member who has throughout the year supported ISA.
    Sicheng Wang ’14 (Mianyang, China), chemical engineering
  • Jeffrey D. Robinson ’80 Leadership Award - An accomplished student who is also characterized by noteworthy leadership in College activities and student life.
    Krysta Battersby ’11 (Brooklyn, N.Y.), history
  • Leroy D. Nunery ’77 Intellectual Citizenship Award – A student whose research on important social, political or economic issues advances knowledge and involves the student in activities within a community.
    Julie Pollack ’11 (Scarsdale, N.Y.), psychology/anthropology & sociology
    Richard Durham ’11 (Braintree, Mass.), economics/Spanish
  • Otis Ellis `89 Scholar Athlete Award- A successful varsity athlete who has achieved an outstanding level of scholarship.
    Allison Hawkey ’11 (Hainesport, N.J.), history/anthropology & sociology
    Cesar Munoz ’11 (Lynbrook, N.Y.), government and law
  • Paving the Path Award – A (first-year or sophomore) student who has demonstrated potential for greatness in the years to come.
    Kyle Tucker ’14 (Los Angeles, Calif.), biology
  • Riley Temple ’71 Creative and Artistic Citizenship Award – A student whose creative scholarship in the visual and/or performance arts contributes to knowledge on societal issues of multicultural or inter-cultural concerns.
    Brandi Porter ’13 (Olney, Md.), music/theater
    Fairouz Foty ’11 (Washington, D.C.), music

posted in Involved, Focused, and Active Students, News and Features, Students

tagged with ,