May 9, 2013

Hoff Awards Honor Outstanding Contributions to Lafayette

Students, faculty, and staff were honored May 5 for their dedication and commitment to the College community at the 23rd annual Aaron O. Hoff Awards ceremony.

Sponsored by the Office of Student Life Programs, the awards are named in honor of one of the College’s first students. In 1832, Hoff blew the horn that summoned Lafayette’s first 43 students and three teachers to class. As a member of the Class of 1836, Hoff was the College’s first African American student. Scott Albert ’13 (Marlboro, N.J.), a chemical engineering major, played “Reverie” at the start of the ceremony and “Taps” at the end in honor of Hoff.

Jiselle Peralta ’13 (Rego Park, N.Y.), a double major in psychology and women’s and gender studies, and Dru Germanoski, Van Artsdalen Professor and head of geology and environmental geosciences, served as hosts for the evening. Hoff Awards Committee chair Brad Bormann ’14 (Flemington, N.J.), a biology major, gave the closing remarks for the event.

Educator Awards

  • Administrator of the Year. Awarded to administrators who have acted with professionalism and integrity and succeeded in producing meaningful change (nominated by students, selected by committee).
    John McKnight, dean of intercultural development
  • Adviser of the Year. Presented to an organization adviser who has eagerly promoted and participated in his or her organization’s events and projects, and is considered both loyal and outstanding by his or her organization (nominated by organization officers and members, committee selected).
    David Stifel, associate professor of economics and Lafayette Initiative for Malagasy Education adviser
  • Staff Member of the Year. Awarded to staff members who have served the Lafayette community beyond their description, and have been courteous and involved in campus life (nominated by students, committee selected).
    Joanne Grube, custodian in plant operations

Hoff’s Highest Honors

  • Leopard Leader Award. Given to one or more students who have held a variety of leadership positions and have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities (all campus nominations accepted, committee selected).
    Morgan West ’13 (Huntington Beach, Calif.), neuroscience
  • The People’s Choice Awards. Given to students or employees known as unusually productive and concerned for the betterment of the College and its student body (all campus nominations accepted).
    Evan Gooberman ’13 (Haddonfield, N.J.), biology
  • Student Government Superior Teaching Awards. Given to outstanding faculty members (criteria and selection by Student Government, nominations from student body).
    Mary Armstrong, associate professor and chair of women’s and gender studies
    David Sunderlin, associate professor of geology and environmental geosciences
  • The Unsung Hero Award. Presented to students and/or staff members who have worked without concern for personal reward, have been loyal and dedicated, and have not been recognized for their efforts (all campus nominations accepted).
    Nirav Giri ’13 (Kathmandu, Nepal), mechanical engineering

Organization Awards

  • Academic Group of the Year. Awarded to an organization related to the academic program that has offered significant intellectual and/or career opportunities to its members as well as a variety of speakers or programs to the Lafayette community.
    Psychology Club
  • Athletic/Recreational Club of the Year. Presented to an athletic or recreational club that has been well organized, has offered its membership and the College excellent opportunities for participation and/or competition with good sportsmanship, and has improved its membership or campus recognition.
    Leopard’s Lair
  • Outstanding Cultural or Religious Group. Given to the group whose performances or programs have made an exceptional contribution to the cultural environment at Lafayette in terms of opportunities for increased cultural appreciation, awareness, tolerance, or personal/spiritual growth.
  • Outstanding Living Group. Given to the living group whose membership has been involved in outside activities, leadership positions, and/or athletics, has contributed to society and philanthropic endeavors, and has provided the Lafayette community with social and/or educational events of high quality.
    Interfaith/Religious Studies Living Learning Community
  • Outstanding Service Organization. Awarded to the service or communications organization whose projects and/or volunteer work has fulfilled the organization’s goals and objectives through the hard work of its entire membership. This organization should promote desirable values and/or provide exceptional service to the Lafayette community.
    Alternative School Break
  • Program of the Year. Presented to organizations that have provided the most outstanding program to campus, be it social, philanthropic, educational, or entertainment. Events are judged on originality, creativity, popularity, and degree to which they fulfilled their purposes.
    Madame de Lafayette Series

Service Awards

  • Class of 1997 Community Service Award. Given to seniors who embody the ideals of philanthropy, volunteer work or community service (nominated and selected by the Landis Community Outreach Center and Chaplain’s Office staff).
    Dena Inqui ’13 (Timonium, Md.), mechanical engineering
  • Community Appreciation Award. Presented to an individual, organization or business within the Easton community who/which has actively supported and enhanced student life (nominated by students, committee selected).
    Schwab’s Screenprinting
  • Service Above Self Award. Presented in recognition of the individual or individuals who best exemplify the qualities of caring and concern for others in service activities (all campus nominations accepted).
    Tatiana Logan ’13 (Santa Barbara, Calif.), double major in anthropology & sociology and global communities & the environment
  • Volunteer of the Year. Given to one or more students who have selflessly made exceptional contributions to society through their volunteer work (nominated and selected by the Landis Community Outreach Center and Chaplain’s Office staff).
    Kofi Boateng ’16 (Bronx, N.Y.)

The 2013 Hoff Awards Committee was comprised of Rose Bayer ’14, John Paul Bisciotti ’14, Madeline Gambino ’14, Madeline Hart ’16, Brent Horowitz ’14, Shehtaz Huq ’14, Rachel Pena ’14, Rachel Trupp ’14, Sicheng “S.C.” Wang ’14, and Pam Brewer, associate dean of students.

posted in Faculty and Staff, News and Features, Students

tagged with


Leave a Comment