Departments and Programs

Choose from 49 areas of study across four academic divisions:

The College offers the bachelor of arts (A.B.) degree in 35 fields, including engineering studies, and the bachelor of science (B.S.) in 10 areas of science and four fields of engineering. You also may create your own interdisciplinary major, combining courses from several fields to achieve your educational goals.

Major Fields of Study

Lafayette students typically declare a major by the end of their sophomore year. The A.B. requirements make it possible for you to pursue two majors or a coordinate major in two departments. The first year of engineering study is common to all five engineering degrees, so you can learn more about engineering before picking a particular field for advanced study.

*Minor programs also are available in these fields

Additional Minor Programs

Self-designed Majors (recent examples)

  • Arabic Studies
  • Archaeology
  • Architectural Studies
  • The Biological and Artistic Study of Form and Function in the Human Body
  • Classical Studies
  • Cognitive Science
  • Community Development
  • Computational Biology
  • Health Care and Society
  • Italian Studies
  • Latin American Studies
  • Linguistic Studies
  • Medieval and Renaissance Studies
  • Philosophy of Religion
  • Quantitative and Financial Literacy
  • Self in Society
  • Social Inequality/Social Justice/Social Policy